2017 CMA Awards Nominations Announced

The nominations are out and it’s a banner year if you’re Keith Urban, Miranda Lambert and Little Big Town.

A multiple winner of CMA awards, Miranda Lambert is set to potentially take home five more as she leads all CMA Nominations this year with five (single, song, video, Female Vocalist and Album of the Year). Keith Urban has four nominations of his own (five if you count double nominations as artist and producer on the Single of the Year category). Little Big Town, too, has four nominations including Album of the Year while Eric Church, Maren Morris, Thomas Rhett and Chris Stapleton all scored three nominations each.

“The talent of the past year for country has been exceptional,” said Sarah Trahern, CMA Chief Executive Officer, in a statement. “It’s great to see nominee names that have graced the list before, and continue to deliver quality artistry. It’s equally thrilling to see six new names ushering in a new generation earning their first CMA Awards nods.”

The biggest surprise nomination is probably Jason Isbell and 400 Unit for their indie release The Nashville Sound. The artist has long voiced displeasure with mainstream and CMA is anything if not mainstream.

The 2017 CMA Awards will take place from Nashville's Bridgestone Arena on Wednesday, November 8, 2017 on ABC. Carrie Underwood and Brad Paisley will once-again serve as CMA Awards emcees.

Entertainer of the Year

  • Garth Brooks
  • Luke Bryan
  • Keith Urban
  • Eric Church
  • Chris Stapleton

Female Vocalist of the Year

  • Kelsea Ballerini
  • Miranda Lambert
Reba McEntire
  • Maren Morris
  • Carrie Underwood

Male Vocalist of the Year

  • Dierks Bentley
  • Eric Church
  • Thomas Rhett
  • Chris Stapleton
Keith Urban

New Artist of the Year

  • Luke Combs
  • Old Dominion
  • Jon Pardi
  • Brett Young
  • Lauren Alain


Vocal Duo of the Year

  • Dan+Shay
  • Florida Georgia Line
  • Maddie & Tae
  • Brothers Osborne

Vocal Group of the Year

Lady Antebellum
  • Little Big Town
  • Old Dominion
Rascal Flatts
Zac Brown Band

Single of the Year (Award goes to the artist, producer(s), and mix engineer(s))

“Better Man” – Little Big Town; Producer(s): Jay Joyce; Mix Engineer(s): Jason Hall, Jay Joyce
“Blue Ain’t Your Color” – Keith Urban; Producer(s): Dann Huff, Keith Urban; Mix Engineer(s): Chris Lord-Alge
“Body Like A Back Road” – Sam Hunt; Producer(s): Zach Crowell; Mix Engineer(s): Zach Crowel
  • “Dirt On My Boots” – Jon Pardi; Producer(s): Bart Butler, Jon Pardi; Mix Engineer(s): Ryan Gore
  • “Tin Man” – Miranda Lambert; Producer(s): Frank Liddell, Eric Masse, Glenn Worf; Mix Engineer(s): Eric Masse

Album of the Year (Award goes to the artist and producer(s))

  • The Breaker – Little Big Town; Producer(s): Jay Joyce
From A Room: Volume 1 – Chris Stapleton; Producer(s): Dave Cobb, Chris Stapleton
Heart Break-Lady Antebellum; Producer(s): busbee
  • The Nashville Sound – Jason Isbell and the 400 Unit; Producer(s): Dave Cobb
  • The Weight of These Wings – Miranda Lambert; Producer(s): Frank Liddell, Glenn Worf, Eric Masse

Song of the Year (Award goes to the songwriter(s))

  • “Better Man” — Songwriter(s): Taylor Swift
  • “Blue Ain’t Your Color” — Songwriter(s): Clint Lagerberg, Hillary Lindsey, Steven Olsen
  • “Body Like A Back Road” — Songwriter(s): Zach Crowell, Sam Hunt, Shane McAnally, Josh Osborne
  • “Dirt On My Boots” — Songwriter(s): Rhett Akins, Jesse Frasure, Ashley Gorley
  • “Tin Man” — Songwriter(s): Jack Ingram, Miranda Lambert, Jon Randall

Musical Event of the Year (Award goes to each artist)

Craving You – Thomas Rhett (feat. Maren Morris)
Funny How Time Slips Away – Glen Campbell with Willie Nelson
  • Kill A Word – Eric Church (feat. Rhiannon Giddens)
  • Setting the World on Fire – Kenny Chesney (with P!nk)
  • Speak to a Girl — Tim McGraw & Faith Hill

Music Video of the Year

“Better Man,” Little Big Town
  • “Blue Ain’t Your Color,” Keith Urban
  • “Craving You,” Thomas Rhett ft. Maren Morris
“Vice,” Miranda Lambert
  • “It Ain’t My Fault,” Brothers Osborne

Musician Of The Year (Award goes to the musician)

Jerry Douglas (Dobro)
  • Paul Franklin (Steel Guitar)
  • Dann Huff (Guitar)
  • Mac McAnally (Guitar)
  • Derek Wells (Guitar)